Reviews


Articles:

Desert USA Review


Sedona Monthly Review


Reviews at Trip Advisor

Been on tour with us? Want to write a review? Please visit our Feedback page!

Customer Comments:


11/27/12

My friend and I went with Charlie on two tours ,one to Upper Antelope and the other to Canyon x,I have to say it was one of the best photographic days I have ever had,the canyons themselves are astonishing the colours and shapes out of this world,but what really made the trips so outstanding was Charlie,his charisma,his photographic knowledge and expertise made these trips an experience to remember for ever.Not to be missed.

John Martin


10/03/12

I took the Canyon X Photo Tour with Charly and 3 of his other clients. Charly is the true professional as is his staff. I should take this opportunity to personally Thank Charly for all of his help in making this a successful tour. He is very personable and patient with those of us who are less than proficient with a camera. Charly, my photos are fantastic due to your help with the settings and advice. I drove from Florida to take this tour with Charly and I have received tons of compliments on my photos. Thanks Charly

Jack Hewitt


08/07/12

After viewing many outstanding "Slot Canyon' images,I decided to take a custom tour of Upper & Lower Antelope Valley & Canyon X. I called Overland Canyon Tours and stated what I wanted to accomplish on my visit. Brenda listened and suggested an itinerary led by Charly Moore. Even more incredible than the amazing canyons is Charly Moore himself. He knows the canyons intimately and has vast experience photographing various settings thru the years. Charlie is not only a high quality professional photographer,artist and framer, Charly is a truly nice man and takes the time to make certain you are getting quality images. The composition and exposure can be challenging,yet Charly is right by your side with suggestions and guidance. Charly is a humble man who places the customer first....he not only says it---he does it too. Overland Canyon Tours is the benchmark for photographic tours in the area. I enjoyed my visit so much with Charly I asked him to keep me informed with any Photo Workshops he is planning in the future. I would not hesitate to use Overland Canyon Tours again and again...and would rate them 5 stars in all aspects of service,reliability and value. It is my pleasure to write this review and my honor to have met Charly & Brenda.

Bill D'Eletto


04/16/12

My experience on a Canyon X tour with Charly, my girlfriend Jacqueline and a very kind gentleman named Tom was more than I expected, and I expected great things. The ability to be in the canyon undisturbed by crowds and time constraints was critical for the overall experience. I found that my anxiety for getting great shots on the camera disapeared. I was able to breathe in the canyon and experience it without the panic associated with most photo outings. The canyon put me in this mood - along with Charly. He knew when to help and when to let me wander. The technical information and companionship Charly provided was singular and unique, something for which I will always be thankful. If I were a rich man I would have booked this tour every day for several weeks as the canyon changes from one second to the next. My advice to anyone considering this tour, or any other with Oveland is this: Do it, and don't even consider another tour company. The other companies seem to be in it for profit and volume. Charly seems to be in it by happy accident.

Grif Heath


04/09/12

Just got back and settled into my condo after a wonderful day in Page, AZ. We did a tour of Antelope Canyon with Irene and it was breathtaking!! Irene was an excellent guide and of great support to our small group in getting the perfect image regardless of the equipment or photographic skill level within the group! This tour is something I have wanted to do for a long time. My only regret is that I didn't have time to take the longer tour! Again, thanks to Irene for making this a fantastic experience, the highlight of my vacation! I have amazing photographs to share and remember the day.

LeAnne Becker


03/26/12

I booked a Canyon-X tour through Overland and though they had no other interested parties at the time the took the reservation. Well no one showed up, however rather than cancelling the tour Charly personally took me into Canyon-x and had 2 other customers for the Antelope Canyon tour. He is the consummate professional and is a fantastic tour guide who is full of advice and suggestions.

I have not been on any other tours though any other guides but after seeing how they are run I would not consider any other guide / company than Overland.

As a suggestion, and if I were to do the tour again, I would forsake the light beams and go to Antelope and Canyon-x at sunrise, for the lighting and color early in the morning is far more impressive than a stream of light blowing out the highlights and lighting up the canyon, besides light beams in Canyon-x only happen for 3 weeks in June each year, and shooting light beams in upper Antelope Canyon is a circus and not a lot of fun. In fact the other tours (and there seems to be a whole gaggle of them) have 15 to 25 people and they push through and get in the way and quite frankly is a total waste of time.

To Charly and Brenda... Thank you so much for one of the best and most educational tours that I have done. As far as I am concerned you guys are simply the best

Gavin Slabbert


03/19/12

My husband and I had a wonderful experience on our tour through Antelope Canyon with Hank. We were the only two people on our tour and Hank really spoiled us by catering his tour to our interests. The highlight of our time in the canyon was Hank's beautiful flute music. It was hauntingly beautiful and enhanced our experience. Loved everything about our tour and Overland Canyon Tours! Thank you, Hank!!! We'll be back to tour Canyon X next time!

Lisa Baldwin


02/12/12

Great tour! Well organized and informed guide. We got caught in one of the worst rainstorms in recent years but our guide, Robin, was well prepared and extremely efficient at getting us out before the flash floods arrived. Robin was also very informative and professional during our tour. He was able to help all of us with camera settings and compositions so that we were able to get some beautiful shots! Make sure you ask for him if you take the tour!

dan h


11/29/11

10-12-2011 tour Walking through and photographing Upper Antelope Canyon was a fantastic experience. Rob was an excellent guide, pointing out excellent photo opportunities along the way one would otherwise miss, and corralling us in such a way as to minimize crowding from other groups while taking pictures in a narrow canyon. Our group size was 8; much smaller than other tour companies, very important to hear commentary, photo ops and camera setting suggestions as well as to have adequate time for pictures. We traveled in air conditioned vehicles while other tour companies used open air vehicles. Overland Canyon Tours gets my highest recommendation.

Ted Chavannes


10/29/11

On morning of October 17, 2011, I arrived a quarter to 10:00 a.m. to scheduled Upper Antelope Canyon Tour. The kind gentleman told me that I was 1 hour early didn't know the time change. The gift and photography gallery was beautiful to look through. One hour later, my tour guide, Nate, took us to the Upper Antelope Canyon. I'm glad I made my tour with your company since your vehicle was comfortable and had windows to roll-up as you drive through the dusty wash bed. Nate help me adjust my camera and help me to take a memorable photos collections of my trip. Thank you Nate and your tour company for a fabulous & memorable trip. I'll highly recommend to my friends and relative to take your tours.

Susan Kawamoto


10/29/11

I had a wonderful experience with Overland Canyon Tours on October 9th, 2011. Canyon-X was breathtaking. Jackson Bridges (our guide) was really helpful and made the trip very memorable. It was by far the best part of my trip to the southwest. Thank you!

Aaron Kennison


10/19/11

Charly,
thanks for this great tour to Canyon X! This was a wonderful experience and, with your tips and recommendations, I could take a number of great shots in the canyon!
Dear reader, if you are a serious photographer who wants to something special AND avoid the crowd, this photo tour to Canyon-X is a must! You get the chance to spend the day together with just a handful (if so many) ambitioned photographers in an exciting environment! This trip is definitely worth the money.
Charly, I will be back for sure!

Bernd Stuttgart, Germany


10/12/11

I found everyone in Page, AZ exceptionally friendly and accomodating. This includes everyone I met at Overland Canyon Tours. What a fabulous company to work with. I had seen many photos of the area and had wantred to visit this area for years to capture my own images. I finally had a chance to do it in October of 2011. The first tour I scheduled was canceled due to weather but Lee at Overland gave me a map and some great suggestions of where to go shoot on my own. I spent ALL day out shooting! The next day Marty took us to the Upper Antelope Canyon and he was very informative and helpful. I recommend this tour company to anyone visiting Page, AZ.

Photobucket Album (Thanks for the album Greg! - Overland Team)

Greg Reyes


10/12/11

The tour was wonderful. The ride to the canyon was in a Suburban as opposed to the back of a pickup as done by other companies. Our guide, Rob was very knowledgeable and helpful. But Antelope Canyon!!!! Beauty beyond words. Highly recommend this tour.

Roland Dewhurst


10/11/11

Hi, I just wanted to thank Overland Canyon Tours for the great experience that my wife & I had when we visited Antelope Canyon. We were picked up at the Hotel, and then picked up some more people before heading to Antelope Canyon. We were in an SUV, which was a fun ride and not in the back of a pickup truck like some other tours... Antelope Canyon is always a busy place, but our guide made sure we were in the Canyon before the big groups arrived, which meant we could explore the canyon slowly and take as much pictures as we wanted. Our guide gave us good advice how to make the best pictures, and I was surprised how good my pictures were since I only had a compact camera (Panasonic Lumix series). I had my tripod with me. Our guide also gave us a bottle of water and lots of info about the canyon itself. On our way back out of the canyon it was suddenly very crowded, with a lot of people angry because they couldn't take their pictures in a decent way. Again not a problem for us since we were in the canyon before them. So I am really happy about our experience with Overland Canyon Tours! ...one last advice for other people : If you have booked an Antelope Canyon tour with another company, cancel it and rebook with Overland! Good service, nice guide, and enough time to enjoy the canyon & take pictures without 300 other people being around you. (to be honest I first booked this tour via another company, but checking online reviews and how bad they were, I cancelled and rebooked via Overland. Best thing that we did...)

Nicolas Herregat


10/03/11

The two of us - along with only 3 other persons - visited the canyon X in mid-september. Jackson was not only a good and funny guide, he showed us many beautiful views and spots and gave good advice how to take the pictures.
We really enjoyed our trip, it was one of the highlights on our tour through the southwest. The canyon is beautiful, it's quiet and we really had time to photograph, to walk around and to be amazed. We are not even unhappy having missed the tours to the upper antelope canyon.
We highly recommend the overland canyon tours and would like to thank Jackson.
Greetings from Switzerland

Leonie & Sascha


09/12/11

Hi Charly, Sherry , David and I would like to Thank you both for our tour into Antelope Slot Canyon , for me from the moment I layer eyes on photo of Antelope Cannon I had to come to Page with a side step on our travells we rocked into Page hoping to get a photographic tour I am so glad the one we looked at on the Internet was full because we would not have ended up on the best tour of all Sherry you rock , so patient so passionate , so good with the camera , such a good story teller , from the moment we walked into Thunderbird Galley I knew this would be an experience ,my photos may not be great but the Feelings the awe will stay with me forever. Charlie I will Take your advise , and play with my camera , learn a lot and have fun with it thank you we will be back to the Grand Circle of Canyons and Monuments David and Chris Edwards from Australia. PS we have and will recommend you to everyone.

Chris Edwards


08/19/11

I had a great time visiting and photographing canyon X with the best guide possible.. Charlie is an experienced photographer, runs an honest and tight ship, open book, willing to share tips, tricks ,location and techniques..No holds barred. I had the best time. I somehow felt that i made a friend in the short time spent there. Do not hesitate to contact these folks if you plan to visit any of the canyons in Page ( that includes the Antelope).

Pierre Peltier


08/06/11

This business was super helpful in booking me a last minute tour when another local business messed up my reservation and turned me away. Overland's prices were/are better and our tour guide Nate was kind and very patient with me and all my questions and concerns along the tour. I highly recommend Overland for touring the Antelope Canyon. My son and I had a great time and came away with wonderful pictures and memories :)

Kirsten Thibeault


06/05/11

After doing a lot of research on line of the various slot canyon tour companies we decided to go with Overland Canyon Tours. I'm sure glad we did because they were just great. Brenda Dominick was so good to work with, and was very flexible in making adjustments for weather conditions. Charly Moore was fantastic as our tour guide, and he made sure we got good photos of light shafts and the right time. What really sets them apart is that they only take six people at a time on their tours. What a difference that makes. We went on their Canyon X tour and we were the only people in the canyon. We could wander around and take our time and take all the photos we wanted. We took a break and had lunch, furnished by Overland, and continued on. It was a fabulous experience . The next day they took us to Upper Antelope Canyon on the photography tour, again with only six people. The difference this day is that the other tour companies shovel big crowds in too, making it very crowded. But still, Charly got us to the right places at the right time to capture the light shafts. I had been trying to get down to Page for three years for this trip and I want to say that Overland Canyon Tours helped make the trip all and more than I hoped to achieve. I certainly hope to go back down there again and go slot canyoning with Overland Tours.

Frank Klein


06/04/11

Our guide was Robin the day we went to the Antelope Canyon & Canyon X Combo Tour. It was breathtaking and adventurous. This tour was the highlite of our AZ vacation for sure. You can't imagine the beauty hidden in the desert. Overland Tours is more personal than the bigger commercial companys in town. I loved the personal attention and bond we received from our guide. Loved his personality and helpfulness on taking great photos. I know have a peice of amazing art in my home that I photographed & an amazing memory.

Stacy Johnson


06/02/11

We went for the Upper Antelope Canyon tour using the Overland Canyon Tours on May 28th 2011. I found them very professional. The tour started with an excellent note where I saw we got enclosed trucks instead of the open trucks like some other tour companies (we had a toddler). They also asked us to install car seat in the truck (the kid was free, so virtually they lost a seat for us). The guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. He helped us with lot of pictures. I can't be thankful enough to Overland tour for making our short trip to Page memorable.

Subhasish Nanda


05/23/11

Me and my girlfriend were with overland tour to Antelope two days ago. It was amazing place. Our guide( Charly) is the best photographer that I have met. I highly recommended overland tour to everyone. We would like to thank you Overland that made a wonderful trip for us. Looking forward to see you all in nearly future.

Ben & Pankaew


05/20/11

We just got back from a tour of Canyon X with our guide ( I think his name is) Rolyn (sp?). IT was a wonderful experience and out guide showed us how to really use our cameras to get the most from the experience. Our guide was exceptional. The best one I've ever had on a tour. Not only did he know the canyons and their story, but he educated us on life in the area, the wildlife that makes that canyon their home, and the people who live in Page, AZ. It was an enlightening experience and I was happy to get to Canyon X early in the morning and not having any other people around so that I could really experience everything that our guide and the canyon had to offer. If you guys ever come to NYC, we'd be more than happy to take you all on a tour here!

Mimi Ward


03/31/11

Today we went on a spectacular tour. Sherry was our tour guide and she did a fantastic job of helping us with pictures and giving us the story and history of the canyon. She is a great tour guide and this is a fantastic place. They picked us up at our campground in a comfortable Suburban and took us out to the canyon for the tour. Much better than the back of a truck. Great company and great tour guide. Thanks Sherry!!

Kathi Golberg


02/12/11

Hello Charly!
We met U first time in August 2006, we spent our holidays (we thought it would be the only time to stay in the US) in California, Nevada, Arizona (and of course in Utah too) and then to northeast - the tour to Cardiac and Canyon X was unbelievable and unforgettable!
The impressions of colors, slots, stones, of the wildlife and the landscape are in my mind everyday! Same impressions have Adelheid and Maria!
In 2009 we started back to the US, to spend our holidays together with our daughter and the little grandson, living near San Francisco.
We saw Canyon X again, it was absolutely changed, but also incredible, beautiful and overwhelming..
Thank You so much for these impressions.
Thank You and good luck for all You've got quite a lot planned!
P.S. to all readers:
Page AZ is not the funnest town in the US, but you must go to Charly Moore, if You are staying there!

Christian Fleischhack


10/12/10

I have just returned from an amazing tour of Canyon X,organized by Overland Tours. Our guide , Jackson Bridges, was a terrific young man who lead us effortlessly down the canyon.

It was very rewarding as we ( My cousin Rick and I) had gone primarily for photography and Jackson made it a dream come true. A passionate and accomplished photographer himself, Jackson showed us the light in ways we would never have known how. (There were no other tourists fortunately, possibly due to the tough terrain.)

If you're ever visiting Page, Arizona, look for Jackson from Overland Tours!!

In case this site allows me to put up the images , I will do so.

Navin Sakhuja


09/14/10

Finely run operation! We made our reservation online easily, and confirmation came very quickly. Office staff and tour guide were friendly, fun, and informative. We'll be recommending Overland to all our friends who plan on checking out Antelope Canyon!

R Dizon


07/02/2010

Took the most awesome tour of Lower Antelope Canyon and Canyon X today guided by Judy and Ryan. Ryan's patience and Judy's enthusiasm in guiding us through the canyons made for a most memorable experience and provided us the opportunity to capture some amazing photographic images. If you're considering a guided trip anywhere in the Page area, we highly recommend Overland Canyon Tours.

Jim Stankevitz


5/4/2010

The 5 days I spent doing photography with Charly were fantastic! Not only is he a fabulous photographer, but he worked with me on my photography and showed me some absolute jewels of the southwest! I highly recommend Overland Canyon Tours for all levels of photograhers!

Judy Graham


2/8/2010

Hi Charly, hi Jackson!

Just wanted to send an email to thank you for the wonderful trip into White Pocket and Canyon X. We had a great time. The support we got from you and Jackson couldn't have been better. Nicole & Ingo from Essen / Germany

Thanks again and we will be booking again in the near future.

Nicole Reinersmann


Bill from Santee, CA

4/11/2009 Took my family of 6 on the Antelope Canyon tour to the upper canyon.

Our guide, Barry, was amazing! He made the trip very personal. He went out of his way to show us things off the tour as well as on the tour. Very informative in the canyon as well. Very helpful showing me where the good photo shots were. 100 shots...all of them turned out amazing.

If you go...ask for Barry. You will not be disappointed.

Pulled from Yelp.com


11/07/2008,

Hi Jackson,

Just wanted to drop you a note and thank you for the wonderful trip into White Pocket. I had a great time and learned a great deal (mainly that I need to come back for more!). The other guys were a blast and the support we got from you and Charly couldn't have been better.

Take care and stay on course.

David Strom


Hi Charly,

Just wanted to send an email to thank you for the tours. clearly you have an excellent team and a product that they are proud to be part of. Maureen, Brianna and I enjoyed ourselves and I will certainly be recommending your company to everyone that I talk to.

Thanks again and we will be booking again in the near future.

George

Rocky Mountain Vacations


Advertisement, Services Not Offered by Overland